Archive | January 20, 2017

Freebie Friday – Crochet Skirts

I have been crocheting for a long time but I hardly ever make clothing. I’ve made many hats and scarves…that I hardly ever wear, except my holiday hats I pull out once a year. I even made mittens once as a request item but just the once. I mostly give the hats and scarves away. I’ve recently embarked in trying to finish two sweater coats (more posts on the way) that I’m loving but that’s about it. Oh, once I followed a pattern for a lacy top that I wore once and then gave away. But that’s really it! I guess I should count the costumes. I made two mermaid skirts and a dragon cloak. But again, costumes! Not real clothing. Clothing was just never my thing. I like making toys, costumes, whimsical things for the holidays and such.

But…one thing I think about often is making a crochet skirt.I’ve been wanting to make myself a crochet skirt for a long time now. It’s something that bounces around in my brain but hasn’t actually come out. Lately though, the itch to make it has become stronger. I’ve been puttering around the internet more often salivating at dresses and skirts. And now, I feel I’m ready to give a skirt a try. Not sure yet if I’ll make one up or if I’ll copy one already out there but here are some that looked easy to make (so that I might actually try it) and was something pretty that I would actually wear.

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-10-29-37-am

I love stripes and this one has the feel of stripes with a nice twist.

Screen Shot 2017-01-19 at 10.46.32 AM.png

More stripes but chevrons make it different, right?  You have to register for this one but it’s free and it’s cute so I think it’s worth it.

 

screen-shot-2017-01-19-at-10-57-07-am

Have to have a black skirt in the bunch.

Screen Shot 2017-01-19 at 10.48.34 AM.png

This one doesn’t have a pattern and I wouldn’t wear it out in public but this would be great for the Renaissance Fair. I couldn’t resist a costume! I think I can make something similar without a pattern.

 

I am not affiliated with any websites nor do I make any money from these sites. They are simply patterns I like or would like to try myself.