Star Wars Crochet Beanie

I wanted to give my husband something he wouldn’t expect for Christmas. We decided not to have wish lists last Christmas to shake things up a bit, but that left me wondering what I could give him. There are people I can make crochet gifts that I know would love them. He’s not necessarily one of them, but if it’s something he wants, then he’s all in. He’s into Star Wars and he often complains that his head is cold when we are at Disneyland so an idea was born, and I took a chance.

I found a graph on Pinterest that I thought would work. It involved using Fair Isle crochet and boy did it take me forever. Ok, not forever, just forever for me. I still finished in a couple of days. However, it was super frustrating not to work as quickly as I usually do. I kept messing up too.

First, I had to readjust the pattern because I used a thicker yarn. That wasn’t too bad, but it did require work and math and all that jazz. Then, I forgot to to repeat the pattern and had to undo hours of work. But after all that, and probably because I had to redo my work, I got better and faster on my second-go-round. I also messed up on the Tie Fighter design and then had to compensate and adjust the pattern again on the fly because there was no way I was going to start over a third time.

In the end, I was happy with the hat, and if my hubby didn’t like it or didn’t want to wear it, I could always wear it. That was my devious plan all along, because I love Star Wars too! But he liked it, so I guess it’s his afterall.

Check out the pattern here. I am not affiliated with this site.

6 thoughts on “Star Wars Crochet Beanie

Leave a comment