Archive | April 28, 2017

Freebie Friday – Easy Crochet Heart Emoji

crochet heart emoji

I had gotten busy making yellow crochet emojis when one of my students asked me to make a heart emoji. I love hearts anyway so I said sure, why not. It had to be easy, though, and quick. I’ve made plenty of hearts over the years and was going through the catalogue in my mind, sorting through all the hearts in there, looking for the perfect one for an emoji. When that failed, I remembered an easy heart I saw on Instagram that would be perfect. It was so easy. So easy, I couldn’t remember how to do it! I couldn’t find it, either.  Failing at that, I just went for the path of least resistance. I made a square with rows of single crochet, with double crochets on two sides to make the heart shape. It couldn’t get any easier than that. I made two, made a face on one, and then sewed it together. No stuffing needed because I used two strands of Caron one pound yarn. The kids loved it and it was done lickity split.

This is definitely a project the kids can make. Working in the round is hard for some of them, but for those who can single crochet, this one will be a piece of cake.

My Crochet-Heart Emoji Video