Craft Yarn Council Lessons 3 and 4

Now that I’ve started blocking, I’m blocking everything! I kept a big, rectangular piece of foam board that was part of the packaging for my standing desk. I thought it might work well for blocking my lesson swatches. I like it so far. I have a spray bottle on my desk and am looking around my office looking for other things to squirt, I mean block. Blocking is fun! Waiting for the pieces to dry, not so fun. ☹️ Running around squirting my family, fun🙃

Not sure I’m blocking right. I know I’m wetting and pinning right, I’m just not sure I’m shaping them right, but it’s the first time I’ve blocked anything so I’m sure I’ll get better.

swatches_16.jpg

The hardest part of my swatches is making a perfect 5″ square. I’ve had to adjust all kinds of things to make the squares come out the right size but it’s been fun figuring it out. I’m totally committed to making this work.

The hardest square for me was the popcorn stitch. The pattern calls for two rows of double crochets, seven rows with popcorn clusters and two more double crochet rows. I had to use medium weight yarn. I just couldn’t get 11 rows and I went down to an F hook and crocheted very tight!

swatches_6.jpg

My toughest swatch!

I got up to nine rows so I went with that, one row of double crochets (instead of two) at the ends with the seven rows of popcorn stitches. My other alternatives were to use a bigger hook and skip some of the non popcorn rows (only seven rows total) or still have the two rows at each end intact but  eliminate some of the rows with popcorn stitches. I think my solution was the best one. I kept the integrity of the popcorn stitch design. The directions say you can alter the stitch count and hook size to attain gauge but hopefully what I did falls within the parameters of what I can change to make it the right size.

The last thing I need to do for lesson 4 is create or use someone else’s pattern for crocheting in the round without joining. It has to be something a beginner can make. I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to make but settled on making a handle cover for a pan. I have cast iron skillets and actually need handle covers so this is perfect. I finished it and realized I don’t want to send it in as an example of my work. It’s going straight to my pan.

crochet pan handle cover.jpg

Instead, I made a small happy face emoji keychain instead.

crochet happy face emoji.jpg

Now that’s something more up my alley.

7 thoughts on “Craft Yarn Council Lessons 3 and 4

  1. Hooray for blocking! I only recently started blocking, but once I saw the effect it had, I block whenever I can. These pieces look excellent – I’ve always wondered how to get a nice, perfect square. Thank you for sharing, Yolanda. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I enjoy your blocking story but am still not convinced of it’s usefulness in practical applications. I get the whole concept of blocking to make the yarn hold a shape but in my real world I throw my crocheted things in the washer and dryer so any gains from blocking are going to be lost. I may just start blocking to be able to spray everyone.
    You’re samples look amazing and they are going to offer you the job of Dean of Crochet Correspondence School as soon as they see them!! Great idea with the pan handle – I LOVE my cast iron pan but it gets a bit scary handling that thing with a flimsy flat pot holder. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit that the best part of the blocking was spraying everything and everyone. 😋 I don’t know how much blocking I’ll do beyond this course but I’m glad I did it because now I can say I’ve done it. But I’m trying to imagine all the blocking I would have had to do with say, my Bavarian sweater, and I don’t think I’d have done it! Even though blocking my samples was fun, I can’t imagine trying to block all the squares for the sweater. I’d probably have to do them in batches, then wait for them to dry. I’m too impatient for all that. But at least knowing how to do it means I can make an informed decision about whether I want to use it or not. I’ve made little purses out of granny squares. That might be an occasion when I might block. Thanks for your kind words about the swatches. I just hope I pass, and then I’ll start thinking about taking over the school! 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Screenwriter/Scriptwriter Interview Q&A – Shane Weisfeld – “Freezer” starring Dylan McDermott, Yuliya Snigir & Peter Facinelli (Action/Crime Thriller Film) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

