On the cusp of crochet overload!

I’ve been furiously toiling away on the life-size doll legs while binge watching medium shows, when I just had to put them down.

Life size crochet doll

Legs are almost done!

I already watched all of the Long Island Medium episodes that were available on Hulu and today, I was burning through Monica the Medium.  My back was hurting, my eyes were watering and I wondered how long I had been sitting and crocheting. Turns out it was a really, really, really long time. I needed a break.

I got up, had some lunch and then spotted this naked pillow on the couch. It was naked because it used to have a Christmas case on it that I didn’t really care for so I took it off, with plans to crochet an awesome pillow cover for it. This happened, you guessed it, in December. Needing a break from crochet, I thought, why not? No, I didn’t start a new crochet project. That would be lunacy. Instead, I had the clever idea to find crocheted pieces I already had and cobble them together into something cool. I rifled through my ‘tossed aside’ miscellaneous crocheted pieces (all crocheters have those, right?) hoping to find inspiration. When out of the corner of my eye, I spotted my other stash of miscellaneous pieces I’d inherited when my mom passed. None of my crochet discards were fitting the bill but mom’s stuff had possibilities. There was even some cross-stitch in there.  I also found some promising cross-stitch from my sister who’d passed away.

After I inherited all these pieces, I had plans to do something with them, but like often happens, they got tucked away and forgotten in lieu of more pressing projects. They were relegated to the ‘some day’ pile. Maybe it was because I was watching all those episodes about mediums, but I felt compelled to use my mom’s or my sisters work on the this pillow.

The pillow is small and square-shaped and I have two pieces of cross-stitch that my sister made that were roughly the same size AND were the same size as the pillow. Perfect! Instead of crocheting, I pulled out some needle and thread and sewed a pillow case. I’m not the best seamstress but I did alright.

Cross stitch cat

Here’s to you sis!

Cross stitch dog

Now that’s an awesome pillow!

You may think my crafting story ends but now I had all these pieces from my mom laying around and I tried to figure out what to do with them. I seriously contemplated crocheting these cute  rectangles together into a skirt.

Rectangle doilies

These are so pretty. Thanks mom 🙂

Rectangle Doilies 2

It was taking a lot of brain power to come up with the best way to go about it. Should I take out the purple border or should I be trying to make it work? I had every intention of making something right then and there but I was on the cusp of crochet overload! I was supposed to be taking a crochet break, remember? I didn’t want to make one more thing. I will do some more thinking but the skirt will be a project for another day. I guess it goes back to the ‘some day’ pile, but hopefully ‘some day’ isn’t too far away.

via Daily Prompt: Cusp

6 thoughts on “On the cusp of crochet overload!

  1. Okay Yolanda – let’s discuss the elephant in the blog first – She looks much weirder holding her own legs on her lap than the picture of the disembodied legs looked! Your sister’s cross stitch is beautiful and how perfect that it fit the pillow! I can definitely see your mom’s rectangles becoming a lovely summer skirt – her filet crochet is beautiful. I would love to make some cute curtains from a pattern like that! And finally – ummm no I don’t have anything like a crochet project purgatory around here (as I’m tucking a corner of a hairpin lace strip back into the drawer)! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I knew she would look weird but I just couldn’t help myself! Muwahaha! Curtains aye? Maybe I could turn them into curtains in my craft room. Thanks for the idea. I might (probably will) steal it. Crochet project purgatory! Hahahaha! Thanks for that. You have a wonderful way with words. 🙂 I definitely have a crochet purgatory going on around here. I have little crochet limbs, granny squares, and more. Purgatory! That’s going to tickle me all night.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. 😀 Oh I think you should do the curtains for your craft room. I’m assuming that from the beautiful shawl you featured the other day, and now these filet panels that your mother loved to crochet. So it would be a lovely tribute to have sunlight dappling through happy yellow curtains in your craft room. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

