Modus Operandi

Modus Operandi: A particular way or method of doing something, especially one that is characteristic or well-established. 

I have a modus operandi. That would be running out of yarn, a yarn I can’t replace, when I’m close to finishing a project. It happens so often, I don’t get alarmed anymore. I would even argue it keeps my mind sharp. How, do you ask? Am I spinning it so I don’t sound disorganized or unrealistic about how much I can stretch a ball of yarn? Nay, I say! I have many balls and skeins of yarn I’ve acquired in varied ways. There were yard sales, donations, thrift stores, and the collection I received from my mom. It’s almost impossible to get more. Sometimes I CAN get more yarn but unless the project is mission critical (it almost never is), I’m usually too busy (lazy) to run out and get more. This naturally forces me to come up with a solution to my dilemma. I have to rethink and regroup and find another yarn in my hodgepodge stash that would make my project just as good if not even better. Sometimes I fail but sometimes I come up with something I  love even more than what I originally planned. It keeps my mind sharp!

Talking about the crochet tooth (who was talking about the tooth?),  once I figured out the design I wanted, I got to work…and ran out of yarn. At least I was able to finish the top portion of the molar. This is a yarn (off white) I could get more of, but this was a prototype anyway, so being busy (lazy), I didn’t bother.

IMG_1678

Go get some more yarn woman!

Lucky for me, I had more of the same kind of yarn in a slightly different color (white) so I used that for the roots.

Crochet tooth

You can hardly even tell there’s a color difference. In the right light, no one will ever know!

My mind is so sharp now. 🙂

I will have a complete pattern available for my next Freebie Friday.

2 thoughts on “Modus Operandi

Leave a Reply

