Square Rag Dolls

I’ve been busy making more crochet rag dolls for the kids at work. They have really gotten into the spirit of the thing and requested all kinds of different dolls. Of course, trying to tell them that the point of making these dolls is to keep it simple hasn’t quite sunk in. After all, my hope was to actually be able to finish them in a timely fashion (as opposed to some time next school year 🙂 ). I’ve been reigning in their requests to something I can actually accomplish.

The second request was a Chris TDM YouTuber thing I had never heard about. I did gather it had something to do with Minecraft. I asked the student to draw it while keeping in mind the parameters of the rag dolls: Square, rectangle, etc. He drew this!

Chris Drawing

Awesome drawing!

I could do that!

IMG_0862

And I did 🙂

Chris crochet doll

Twinsies 🙂

Next up was Elsa from Frozen. Ok. Now we’re getting a little more complicated. I stuck with the square theme but I decided to do a little shaping in the neck area. I forgot about the cape at first but I was quickly reminded about it by my 2nd grade requestor. She mentioned shoes too. LOL.

Here’s what I came up with.

IMG_1112IMG_1113

Next time, although I said I would keep it square, I might try a round face. The idea would be the same though, I would make two circles and then sew them together.

Next up was a Creeper (Minecraft again) request. I went from memory on that one. While I was working on it, a kinder boy who’s an expert on all things Minecraft told me that Creepers don’t have noses. What?! I’m pretty sure they have noses. There’s nothing like having a Kindergartner critiquing my work but I jumped on the internet and they do too have noses! I proudly showed him and he shrugged it off and went back to  playing Minecraft on the iPad. He made me nervous there for a minute. The owner and requestor of this one was very happy with it so I guess the nose was fine.

IMG_0903

Of course I have a nose!

This Lego character was requested by a 4th grader. Here is the drawing the student made. Based on the drawing, I think I nailed it.

Lego

I definitely can do this!

IMG_0934

Ok, the drawing was much cuter. 🙂

After that I think I promised to make another TDM character that looks like this:

IMG_0895

Okay, now it’s getting more complicated. I looked this one up to see if I could simplify it. This one actually doesn’t match what I found. The sweater is black and he seems to have a blue tie. I might have to discuss changes with the requestor. I mean, if he wants a blue sweater, I’ll give him a blue sweater but my reputation is on the line here. He should match the character, right? Or, I might be getting carried away. That’s always a possibility.

One thought on “Square Rag Dolls

Leave a Reply

