Mini Me Complete

Mini Me’s Adventures

Mini Me is finally complete and she was so much fun to make. And apparently she was fun to play with. It’s always a good sign when people want to play with or cuddle the dolls I make. I was visiting my sister while working on Mini Me. Her hair was finished and I was going to make her outfit. As usual, I told my sister that I brought my crochet stuff in case she bored me and I needed something to do (this is tongue-in-cheek, she never bores me 🙂 )Before her outfit was complete, my sister grabbed the doll and kept making cutsie faces at it (she would never admit this of course and would probably call me a liar). Then, she started braiding her hair.

72 Dpi Mini Me

My sister couldn’t help self. She just had to braid her hair.

72 Dpi Mini Me 2

She did a great job!

Worst of all, she kept giving me advice on her outfit. It should be this color not that color. The skirt should go like this and not like that. You get the idea. Since I consider myself a smart person, I listened. It’s a good thing I did because the outfit was a big hit.

72 dpi mini me 3

The next day, my hubby was sleeping and I showed him the finished doll. He grabbed her and (here comes the cuddle part) asked if she could sleep with him (like a teddy bear?). Since she was mine to keep (and not intended as a gift for anyone else) I said sure. He hugged her and said he was going to keep her. I humored him and left her in his care and went to do something else. When I came back to take her away, he was sound asleep. She was under the covers with her head peeking out with a big smile on her face. He WAS holding her like a teddy bear! I wish I had taken a picture (he would never have forgiven me). I had intended to gently pull her out of his grip and take her away without waking him but as I reached for her, I snorted/laughed and yanked her out. He woke up with a jolt confused and groggy. I let him know how I found her and he thought it was very funny because he couldn’t remember keeping her much less snuggling up with her. After rescuing her (Mini Me would probably consider it a snatching from a warm and comfy place and not a rescue), I gave her some jewelry and she was done. I gave her a mini (pardon the pun) photo shoot in my “garden” (it’s just a bunch of plants I didn’t manage to kill).

 

 

The Pattern

Head
Ch 4, sl st (or magic ring)
Rnd 1: 8 sc in ring, do not join
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st (16 sts) (this is an inc every st)
Rnd 3: *1 sc in next st, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (24 sts)
Rnd 4: *1 sc in next  2 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (32 sts)
Rnd 5: *1 sc in next  3 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (40 sts)
Rnd 6: *1 sc in next  4 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (48 sts)
Rnd 7: *1 sc in next  5 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (56 sts)
Rnd 8-19: 1 sc in each st around (56 sts)
Rnd 20: *1 sc in next 5 sts, sc2tog*, rep from * to * around (48 sts)
Rnd 21: *1 sc in next 4 sts, sc2tog*, rep from * to * around (40 sts)
Rnd 22: *1 sc in next 3 sts, sc2tog, *, rep from * to * around (32 sts)
Rnd 23: *1 sc in next 2 sts, sc2tog, *, rep from * to * around (24 sts)
Rnd 24: 1 sc in next st, sc2tog, *, rep from * to * around (16 sts)
Make your face and stuff. I used buttons for the eyes and embroidered the eye lashes, nose, and mouth.
Rnd 25: sc2tog every st, (8 sts) tighten hole
Rnd 26: 1 sc in each st.
Fasten off, weave in end

Hair Cap
Repeat pattern for the head up to round 8 or 9 to desired head coverage. Fasten off leaving a long tail and sew onto the head.

Body
Ch 4, sl st (or magic ring)
Rnd 1: 8 sc in ring, do not join
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st (16 sts)
Rnd 3: *1 sc in next st, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (24 sts)
Rnd 4: *1 sc in next 2 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (32)
Rnd 5: *1 sc in next 3 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (40)
Rnd 6: *1 sc in next 4 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (48)
Rnd 7: *1 sc in next  5 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (56 sts)
Rnd 8-15: 1 sc in each st around
Rnd 16: *1 sc in next 5 sts, sc2tog*, rep from * to * around (48 sts)
Rnd 17: *1 sc in next 4 sts, sc2tog*, rep from * to * around (40 sts)
Rnd 18: *1 sc in next 3 sts, sc2tog, *, rep from * to * around (32 sts)]
Rnd 19-22: 1 sc in each st around (32 sts)
Rnd 23: *1 sc in next 3 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (40)
Rnd 24: *1 sc in next 4 sts, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (48)
Rnd 25-32: 1 sc in each st around (48 sts)
Rnd 33: *1 sc in next st, sc2tog, *, rep from * to * around
 Rnd 34: *1 sc in next st, sc2tog, *, rep from * to * around
Rnd 35-38: 1 sc in each st around (21 sts)
Fasten off, stuff and sew on to head

Arms-Make 2
Ch 4, sl st (or magic ring)
Rnd 1: 8 sc in ring, do not join
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st (16 sts)
Rnd 3: *1 sc in next st, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (24 sts)
Rnd 4-8: 1 sc in each st around (24 sts)
Rnd 9: sc2tog (dec) every st, (12 sc)
Rnd 10-21: 1 sc in each st around (12  sc)
sl st, fasten off
Stuff and sew to body

Legs – make 2
Ch 4, sl st (or magic ring)
Rnd 1: 10 sc in ring, do not join
Rnd 2: 2 sc in each st (20 sts)
Rnd 3: *1 sc in next st, 2 sc in next st*, rep from * to * around (30 sts)
Rnd 4-8: 1 sc in each st around (30 sc)
Rnd 9: 2togsc (dec) every st, (15 sc)
Rnd 10-23: 1 sc in each st around (15  sc)
sl st, fasten off
Stuff and sew to body

Hair

I attach the hair for my dolls in many different ways but for this doll, I chose a thin black yarn and a variegated black and metal yarn. I wrapped the yarn from both skeins around a book a bunch of times and then cut it at the bottom to get the strands the length I needed. I attached it using the tassel method often used for adding fringe on finished crochet pieces.

The dress
I don’t have a pattern for the dress because it’s a one of a kind, off the top of my head design but this is how I worked:

The top part of the dress was made in rows in that shiny, variegated yarn. I made a chain around the top part of the body, under the arms, and went all the way around but didn’t join. I did one row of single crochet and then a round of the star stitch (the star stitch is completed with 2 rows). I crocheted a few rows of half double crochet and did some decreases in the mid area. I did a few more rows and then did some increase rows in single crochet. I increased by placing 3 single crochet in each stitch. At this point, I stopped crocheting in rows and joined my sides and started crocheting in the round. I alternated single crochet rows with double crochet rows. This made the skirt poof out. I only did a few rounds of this to about midway of the bottom half of the doll. It was a short skirt that didn’t cover the bottom part of the body. I cut and fastened off the yarn.

The next part was a bit tricky. I used the same thin, black yarn I used for the hair and attached it under (inside) the dress about four rows up from the bottom. I crocheted half double crochet rounds until got the length I wanted (to about mid leg), did a round in the back post to create an edge and crocheted the same amount of rounds as I had already done. I did this because I folded the skirt and attached it on the inside of the skirt where I originally started. I only did this because I realized the skirt was very see through with just one layer so I made the skirt double the length I wanted it to be and then folded it and sewed it on the inside. It was a bit tricky to do it but it worked out fine. If I had gone with a thicker yarn, I would have only needed one layer and would have fastened off at mid leg.

72 dpi mini me IMG_0606

This shows where I started and attached the black yarn. It is under the variegated yarn.

I then attached the same black yarn to the top of the dress and did a few rows of single crochet from one arm to the other. I decreased on the edges leading to the top to fit around the arms. I added straps from the front to the back and added buttons to the back of the dress.

72 dpi mini me IMG_0607

Note the black part between the arms.

72 dpi back of dress

This shows the back of the dress ad where I attached the buttons.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Mini Me Complete

  1. I was fortunate enough to see mini Yoli alive and in person, and she is beyond cute and adorable. You can’t help but smile when you hold her. You make us all want a mini us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Freebie Friday – Crochet Heart for Purplicious Doll | yochet

Leave a Reply

